Egyptian security must be called to account, despite the release of Philip Rizk

The Arabic Network for Human Rights information calls for Egyptian security to be held to account for the kidnapping and mental abuse of activist Philip Rizk, after his taking part in a solidarity march to Gaza on the 6 of February. Interviewed by ANHRI, Philip said, “I was repeatedly questioned about everything and I was terrified. Although I was not abused physically, I was blind-folded all the time. Officers kept saying to me: “Do you know what we can do to you?”, and I was threatened with long term imprisonment. They asked me if I supported Hamas, was working for Israel, and, being Christian, if I was an evangelist. I was never informed of any charges against me.”

Since the arrest, state security has also censored Rizk’s blog, Tabula Gaza.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

